Singleness: My Only Companion by E. Uwan

Singleness: My Only Companion by E. Uwan

This was originally sent to me by a Twitter friend of mine, ymmarta. So thank you to ymmarta to sending this link my way.

The following is written by a woman who has never been married, engaged, or had a boyfriend.

(Link): Singleness: My Only Companion by E. Uwan

Some excerpts:

I’ve never been in a serious relationship despite my desire to one day marry. God is teaching me to hold that desire loosely.

 … This is my story, this is my song: I am a 30-something single woman and I have never been in a dating relationship. I’ve never had a boyfriend. I’ve never brought anyone home to meet my family. I’ve never been pursued or even sought after.

…It took years of prayer, meditation on God’s Word, discipleship, biblical counseling, and a deeper understanding of the gospel of Jesus Christ to graciously lift the wickedly stubborn root of shame and rejection from my heart [in regards to being single].

Even now, there is still some scar tissue. Shame’s dastardly lessons from the past haunt me sporadically—how can they not? After all, the gospel doesn’t inoculate us from the pain we experience in this fallen world. In fact, it is promised to us that, by virtue of our union with Christ, we will suffer to some degree (Phil. 1:29).

Holding My Dreams Loosely

By God’s grace, shame no longer defines this area of my life as it has in the past. A beautifully redemptive combination of age and the aforementioned means of grace has helped me arrive at the realization that God has an immense calling on my life that reaches far beyond my marital status. Yet it doesn’t necessarily preclude marriage.

(( please click here if you would like to read the rest: located on Christianity Today’s site ))


Related Posts:

(Link): Being Single is Hard by E. Lindsay

(Link): Stop Telling Your Single Friends to Try Dating Sites – Please.

(Link): Following the Usual Advice Won’t Get You Dates or Married – Even Celebrities Have A Hard Time

(Link): Responding to the Cliche’ “Jesus Is All You Need” – Re Christian Singles

(Link): The Problem with Platitudes – for Christian single over 35 years old never married

(Link): Post by Sarah Bessey Re: Churches Ignore Never Married Older and/or Childless Christian Women, Discriminate Against Them

(Link): Five Things Single Women Hate to Hear

(Link): List of Christian Singlehood Annoyances, Part 1

(Link): List of Christian Singlehood Annoyances, Part 2

(Link): How (Married) Christians and Christian Teachings About Dating/Marriage Are Keeping Single Christians Single Part 1

Leave a Reply

