Groom Charged with Four Counts of Rape on His Wedding Day

Groom Charged with Four Counts of Rape on His Wedding Day

I grew up in a conservative, Christian background and have been a social conservative my whole life. I was a Republican from my teen years up to my mid-40s. I remain a right winger, but I don’t think I consider myself a Republican any more (no, I’m not a Democrat).

There is definitely a mythos and fairy tale among Christians and conservative political types that getting married is necessary to making a person mature, godly, responsible, and loving.

Often, Christian or right wing think tanks promote or peddle articles and studies that purport to show that marriage makes people happier or more mature (and these in turn are often debunked by Bella Depaulo – visit her blog here)

Of course, this idea that marriage will make a person more godly, loving, ethical and so forth, is magical thinking and a falsehood.

Marriage does not make people any more godly, responsible, loving, or mature than singleness does.

If marriage makes a person more loving, godly, and so forth, why do I keep seeing news story after news story of people who rape other people? Like this one:

(Link): Groom Charge with Four Counts of Rape on His Wedding Day

Leave a Reply

